Research

The Department of Linguistics is committed to research and scholarship of the highest quality. Linguistics is a very dynamic, relatively young, and rapidly growing discipline. It has now matured to a particularly exciting point in its history where internal barriers are becoming elastic, and research at the interfaces is becoming core. This dynamism is evident in the Department of Linguistics, which stands at the centre of linguistic research in Canada, and is recognized as a major international participant in the field.

Research interests of specific members of the Department can be found in our directories.

For a schedule of the Linguistics Research Group Meetings 2022-23, please see the table below.

Fall Session

Date   10:00am-11:30am 11:30am-1:00pm 1:00pm-2:30pm
Friday, September 09, 2022 Faculty Meet & Greet 9:30-11:00am      
Friday, September 16, 2022   CSOL PHONO SEM
Friday, September 23, 2022 Departmental Meeting 3:00-5:00pm LVC/MORPHO SYN LDDR
Friday, September 30, 2022 Graduate Welcome Party CSOL PHONO SEM
Friday, October 7, 2022   LVC/MORPHO SYN LDDR
Friday, October 14, 2022   CSOL PHONO SEM
Friday, October 21, 2022   LVC/MORPHO SYN LDDR
Friday, October 28, 2022   CSOL PHONO SEM
Friday, November 4, 2022        
November 7-11, 2022 Reading Week no meeting no meeting no meeting
Friday, November 18, 2022   LVC/MORPHO SYN LDDR
Friday, November 25, 2022 Departmental Meeting 3:00-5:00pm CSOL PHONO SEM
Friday, December 02, 2022   LVC/MORPHO SYN SEM
Friday, December 09, 2022   CSOL PHONO LDDR
Friday, December 16, 2022 Faculty Retreat and Holiday Luncheon   SYN (TBD)  

 

Winter Session

Date   10:00-11:30am 11:30-1:00pm 1:00-2:30pm
Friday, January 06, 2023 1st week back      
Friday, January 13, 2023   LVC/MORPHO PHONO LDDR
Friday, January 20, 2023   CSOL SYN SEM
Friday, January 27, 2023   LVC/MORPHO PHONO LDDR
Friday, February 03, 2023   CSOL SYN LDDR
Friday, February 10, 2023 Departmental Meeting 3:00-5:00pm LVC/MORPHO PHONO SEM
Friday, February 17, 2023   CSOL SYN LDDR
February 20-24, 2023 Reading Week no meeting no meeting no meeting
Friday, March 03, 2023   LVC/MORPHO PHONO LDDR
Friday, March 10, 2023  

CSOL

SYN SEM
Friday, March 17, 2023 **Proposed Prospective Gradaute Students Day (all groups meet for one hour) 10:00-11:00am CSOL
11:00am-12:00pm LVC
12:00-1:00pm SYN
1:00-2:00pm PHONO
2:00-3:00pm LDDR
3:00-4:00pm SEM
Friday, March 24, 2023 Departmental Meeting 3:00-5:00pm CSOL PHONO LDDR
Friday, March 31, 2023   LVC/MORPHO SYN FW