Research

The Department of Linguistics is committed to research and scholarship of the highest quality. Linguistics is a very dynamic, relatively young, and rapidly growing discipline. It has now matured to a particularly exciting point in its history where internal barriers are becoming elastic, and research at the interfaces is becoming core. This dynamism is evident in the Department of Linguistics, which stands at the centre of linguistic research in Canada, and is recognized as a major international participant in the field.

Research interests of specific members of the Department can be found in our directories.

For a schedule of the Linguistics Research Group Meetings 2021-22, please see the table below.

Fall Session

Date   10:00-11:30am 11:30-1:00pm 1:00-2:30pm
Friday, September 10, 2021 Faculty Meet & Greet 10-11am      
Friday, September 17, 2021 Departmental Meeting 3:00-5:00pm LVC SYN SEM
Friday, September 24, 2021   PSYCH PHONO FW
Friday, October 1, 2021   LVC SYN LG REVITAL
Friday, October 8, 2021   PSYCH PHONO SEM
Friday, October 15, 2021   LVC SYN LG REVITAL
Friday, October 22, 2021   PSYCH PHONO FW
Friday, October 29, 2021 Departmental Meeting 3:00-5:00pm LVC SYN SEM
Friday, November 5, 2021   PSYCH PHONO LG REVITAL
November 8-12, 2021 Reading Week no meeting no meeting no meeting
Friday, November 19, 2021   LVC PHONO FW
Friday, November 26, 2021   PSYCH SYN LG REVITAL
Friday, December 3, 2021 Departmental Meeting 3:00-5:00pm LVC PHONO SEM
Friday, December 10, 2021   PSYCH SYN LG REVITAL

 

Winter Session

Date   10:00-11:30am 11:30-1:00pm 1:00-2:30pm
Friday, January 7, 2022 1st week back      
Friday, January 14, 2022 Departmental Meeting 3:00-5:00pm LVC PHONO FW
Friday, January 21, 2022   PSYCH SYN SEM
Friday, January 28, 2022   LVC PHONO LG REVITAL
Friday, February 4, 2022   PSYCH SYN FW
Friday, February 11, 2022   LVC PHONO SEM
Friday, February 18, 2022   PSYCH SYN LG REVITAL
February 22-25, 2022 Reading Week no meeting no meeting no meeting
Friday, March 4, 2022   PSYCH PHONO FW
Friday, March 11, 2022 **Proposed Prospective Gradaute Students Day (all groups meet for one hour)

10-11: PSYCH;
11-12: LVC

12-1: SYN;
1-2 PHONO
2-3 FW/LG REVITAL
3-4: SEM
Friday, March 18, 2022   LVC SYN SEM
Friday, March 25, 2022 Departmental Meeting 3:00-5:00pm PSYCH PHONO LG REVITAL
Friday, April 1, 2022   LVC SYN FW